jump to navigation

Personal Story From Friend of unfollowcharlie April 1, 2011

Posted by kelllo in Domestic Abuse, help a friend, Personal Stories, Women Who Rock.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

We were sent this heartbreaking, yet inspiring story by one of our dear unfollowcharlie friends and co-founders.

Please. If you are in a similar situation, please seek help. From a friend. From an expert. From family. From the police. From an anonymous source. Anyone.

Call 1-800-787-SAFE for immediate help.

I didnt share any personal stories in the last thread about my ex husband, but I will here. He thought that if he didnt hit me with his hands, it could not be called abuse. He would hit me with a bat, pans, break glass over my head. Lock me in closets. I had a 5 month old baby and was living far from home. When I left Modesto to live in TX I gave everyone my new address in Dallas. When we drove through Dallas, I realized we werent going to live there after all. When we got to our new place 3 hours past Dallas, it occurred to me I might be in trouble. The phone was locked with a code so I could not call anyone. I started stealing nickels and dimes from him so I could use the pay phone near the corner. I didnt want to steal quarters b/c I knew he would notice those missing. He also enjoyed doing this new thing called “digging a grave” where he had a tiny grave and a bigger grave dug out in the back yard.

My baby was 9 months old by the time I was able to find help. (this was 17 years ago) It took me months to save enough coins to make a call. I used the pay phone, and called my dad. They had already made a trip to Dallas to find me b/c they could not get in contact. He left that same day and drove 2 days to our home in TX. He had a gun with him, but he didnt need it. My ex was a coward who only wanted to hurt people smaller than him. It took YEARS to be around any man who resembled him. I would actually leave places if someone looked like him out of fear. To this day if someone big booms their voice, I duck and cover. I hate always looking for escape routes.

Last year he found my facebook. it was the worse feeling. It made me fear all over again. In the end though, I would not let him see me fear anything.

We thank you so very much for sharing this story with the world, and we love you so much.

Comments»

1. sweetirony421 - April 1, 2011

This breaks my heart. I’m so glad you’re out of that.

2. kelllo - April 1, 2011

Agree completely with SweetIrony. So glad you are safe and with us and stronger for it. xoxo

3. Syd - April 1, 2011

Agreed with all of the above. Jesus. So glad you are safe now.

4. bad_jon. - April 1, 2011

This is a good outlet.

It’s so easy to think “This doesn’t happen in the real world.”

It happens.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks unfollowcharlie for providing this place.

5. DRD #37 - April 1, 2011

This story is heartbreaking. Thank you for having the courage to share it. Your bravery, both in your situation and in being open about your experience, is inspiring.

Please, hang onto that courage and always remember that you’re loved.

6. Isabelle - April 8, 2011

Heart breaking indeed. I’m so glad you got the help and are safe out of that situation.


Leave a Reply

