jump to navigation

Survivors of Domestic Abuse – Personal Stories March 14, 2011

Posted by Syd in Domestic Abuse, Personal Stories, Substance Abuse, Teenage Relationships.
trackback

From time to time here on the blog, we’ll be posting the personal stories of domestic violence survivors. These stories are no doubt difficult to share, and they are equally difficult to read, but it’s important that they are read.  

We thank everyone who has been brave enough to submit stories so far and welcome further submissions.

From Ruth:

“I was pretty stupid when I was 17. I dated a guy that was an alcoholic and drug addict. He was a friend of my sisters and I knew when I started spending time with him that he drunk a lot, but I didn’t know what kind of guy he was when he had too much to drink.

At first he was a good guy, no problems, treated me like a princess. Then we moved in together and things slowly started to change. If he went out on a nights drinking and I dared complain about how late he came home he would scream at me. After a few months that progressed to more than screaming. He would slap me for complaining. He would punch me for being late home from work, or from being out with a girlfriend. We would fight, he would hit me. And I excused it, because after every time he would apologise and tell me how much he loved me and so I stayed. I stayed far too long. I stayed til I lost a baby. Not because he hit me, because of the stress of not knowing when he would.

Eventually a smart friend talked me into leaving, and my life changed, but for years I would flinch every time a guy would fight with me because I expected the hit to the face. To this day I continue to hold onto scars both physical and mental, of what he did to me. The scars don’t fade just because you left. You live with it long after you’ve found the strength to walk away. Nobody should have to live with those scars. Every woman deserves better.”

Comments»

1. sweetirony421 - March 31, 2011

Thank you for sharing that.


Leave a Reply

